I'm a New Sierra ILS Administrator

Here are my notes with links from the New Sierra ILS Administrator Session on Feb 15 2024. I copied this from MS Word html, so I’m not sure how well it is going to work. Hope it will be ok!

Welcome

I think we all have different stories of how we came to be Admins. I worked in Corporate IT for many years. I was a manager when I was laid off in a reorg and decided I really didn’t want to continue being a manager, also didn’t want to upgrade my IT Admin skills and go back to being woken up in the middle of the night. I started out working in a press library which got me interested in computers and so I ended up deciding to go back to school and get my Library & Info Technology diploma and after that managed to get my position at the same College where I went to school when a long term employee retired.

Knew pretty much nothing about Libraries let alone Sierra. But I was left with a whole bunch of SQL queries from my predecessor (Beacon Award winner) and soon reached out to the community for help and they were so ready to answer all my questions.

Show of hands: How many people:

• Came from IT and had to learn about libraries
  • How many are Sys Admins from another ILS
  • How many people use Sierra in some other function and took on this role of Sys Admin or perhaps were even voluntold to do so

Whatever your journey you might feel a bit overwhelmed with info and you won’t learn it all today, but we can give you pointers of where to look and when you have questions we will talk about where to get some answers. I have found this community so helpful and I think you will too.

Innovative LibGuides

https://innovative.libguides.com/home

https://innovative.libguides.com/sierra/sysadmin

Sometimes info might be a bit dated, but still work (I occasionally see references to Millenium still (predecessor to Sierra)

Sierra documentation

https://documentation.iii.com/sierrahelp/Default.htm