Custom jobs help?

Hi I’m new to making custom jobs, and I’m not sure if there’s another way of doing this. But we would like to send an automated e-mail to Polaris staff users who have made obvious errors while creating a new patron to get them fixed. In this case, ones who have input the address without any numerics in them. I was thinking the job could be scheduled every week to go out.

I already have the SQL query to find these specific records, but how do I make a job send an e-mail to a specific Polaris staff user

Based on the power of AI :stuck_out_tongue:

To use SQL to send emails, you will need to configure the database server to enable SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol) email connectivity. This can be done by setting up Database Mail or configuring Database Engine Mail in SQL Server.

Once you have set up the database to send emails, you can use SQL queries to send emails to specific users based on their email addresses stored in the database.

In the below example, you would replace user@example.com with the email address of the user you want to send the email to. The SQL query specified in the @query parameter will retrieve data from the myTable table where the myColumn column has a value of 'myValue'.

The query results will be included in the body of the email in a table format. The other parameters in the stored procedure are used to specify the format of the query results. For example, @query_attachment_filename is used to specify the filename of the attached query result file, @query_result_separator is used to specify the separator character used in the query result, and @query_result_header is used to include the column headers in the query result.

-- Set email parameters
DECLARE @recipients VARCHAR(100) = 'user@example.com'
DECLARE @subject VARCHAR(100) = 'Email subject'

-- Define SQL query to retrieve data
DECLARE @query NVARCHAR(MAX) = N'
    SELECT *
    FROM myTable
    WHERE myColumn = ''myValue''
'